top of page

A Melancholic Manifestation: "The Raven that Refused to Sing" (2013) by Steven Wilson

Released on 25 February 2013 by Kscope Music Records, The Raven That Refused To Sing is Steven Wilson’s 3rd solo album. The album features giants of the prog rock world including Guthrie Govan, Marco Minnemann, Theo Travis, and Nick Beggs. It was also engineered by Alan Parsons. It’s not surprising that it won the “Album of the Year” award at the 2013 Progressive Music Awards. A deluxe, 4-disc edition of the album was released as well, which included a 128-page book of lyrics and ghost stories, with illustrations by Hajo Mueller. 

The album is more jazz/fusion influenced than Wilson’s other works. Flute solos, saxophone parts, jazzy keyboard and piano sections are all over the album and play a big role in the album’s instrumental synergy. In addition to this, the album seems like Wilson has made a tribute to 70s prog, especially King Crimson with this album. Marco Minnemann and Guthrie Govan’s additions have definitely made a huge impact on Wilson’s sound, as it is less electronic and more technically robust than what was expected of Wilson.  

Another important part of the album is the stories behind it. Each song is another story about supernatural occurrences and the contrast between life and death. The album cover is also an illustration of this, as it is a reference to the theme of ghosts and soul that can be seen in all of the songs.

Read the full track-by-track review!

bottom of page